Nominations and Voting Procedures

Elections to Council 2020

Date: March 31, 2020

(This election has concluded. Information on Elections to Council 2021 will be posted in January 2021)

District 4 (East)
District 7 (Psychological Associates)

The College of Psychologists of Ontario, in keeping with its statutory mandate and objects, regulates the practice of psychology in serving and protecting the public interest. All members of the College Council, regardless of whether elected or appointed, represent the public and not the constituency of the district or university from which they were elected or appointed. The Council is comprised of seven elected professional members, two to three appointed academic members, and five to eight public members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.  In addition, there is one elected, non-voting Psychological Associate member. 

Election Date:  March 31, 2020

Electoral District 4 (East) is composed of the counties of Lanark, Renfrew, Leeds and Grenville, Prescott and Russell, Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, and the City of Ottawa.

Electoral District 7 (Psychological Associates) is composed of the constituency of Psychological Associates who have chosen to vote in this district rather than in their geographic district.

Eligibility for Election:  

To be eligible to be nominated to serve on the College Council, as of January 1, 2020, a Psychologist or Psychological Associate must be engaged in the practice of psychology in the electoral district for which they are nominated. If not engaged in the practice of psychology, the member must be a resident in the electoral district for which they are nominated.

A Psychologist or Psychological Associate must not be in default of payment of any fees; the certificate of registration must not have been revoked or suspended in the six years preceding the date of the election or subject to a term, condition or limitation, as a result of a disciplinary action, within two years preceding the date of the election.

A member nominated for election to Council, who holds any position on the Board, Committee or staff of any professional psychological association involved professional advocacy, must undertake to resign that position before taking office. 

A member may be a candidate for election in only one electoral district in which they are an eligible voter.

Eligibility to Vote 

A member who, on the date of the election, holds a certificate authorizing autonomous, interim autonomous or supervised practice, or an academic, inactive or retired certificate of registration is eligible to vote.
All Psychologists practising in District 4 (East) or if not practising, residing in District 4 (East) may support a nomination and may vote. 
Psychological Associates who have chosen to vote in their geographic district and are practising in District 4 (East) or if not practising, residing in District 4 (East), may support a nomination and may vote.
Psychological Associates who have chosen to vote in District 7 (Psychological Associates) rather than in their geographic district may support a nomination and may vote in this district. To check your current voting choice, please visit your account. 

Forms:  A Nomination Form is available on the College website or may be obtained by contacting the College. A nomination must be endorsed by at least five members who are eligible to vote in the electoral district.

Deadline for nominations: Nominations will be received until 5 p.m., Sunday, March 1, 2020.  

Withdrawal of nomination: A candidate may withdraw their nomination by giving notice to the Registrar in writing, not less than 30 days before the election. The last day for withdrawal is Sunday, March 1, 2020.

Voting Procedures

A link to the secure voting site will be sent to eligible voters no later than 15 days before the election. The site will host the final list of candidates in the electoral district and the candidates’ biographies and statements.

Other Information

Responsibilities: Council members are appointed to serve on the seven statutory Committees: Executive, Registration, Inquiries, Complaints and Reports, Discipline, Fitness to Practise, Quality Assurance, and Client Relations. In addition, members of Council may be appointed to the non-statutory Finance and Audit Committee or Jurisprudence and Ethics Examination Committee. Council members serve on at least two such Committees and may be appointed to act as a Committee Chair. 

Code of Conduct: The College of Psychologists has developed a Code of Conduct for Council and non-Council members of the College Committees. This Code sets out the standards of conduct to which those working with the College must comply. Council and Committee members sign the Code of Conduct on an annual basis to demonstrate their commitment to these standards. 

Term of Office: The term of office for elected members is three years. 

Time Commitment: Council meetings are held at least quarterly and normally last one full day (usually a Friday). Twice per year, Council engages in “Training Days” on the day prior to the spring and fall meetings. Committees meet between Council meetings and the frequency depends on the Committee’s work and role.  See Committee Descriptions and Time Commitments.

The first Council meeting of the new term will take place on June 12, 2020. Further meetings for the 2020-2021 year have not yet been scheduled. New Council members will be asked to attend an orientation training session on the afternoon preceding the June 12th meeting. Committee appointments are made by the Executive Committee at the end of the June Council meeting. 

Per diems and Expenses: Current Council policy provides for a per diem of $325 for Council and committee meetings. Half-day meetings are pro-rated. Overhead of up to $200 per day is available for Council Members who derive more than half of their income from self-employment. Out-of-pocket expenses such as travel (economy fare or mileage); hotel; meals; and necessary taxi fare or parking expenses are reimbursed.